Monday, August 29, 2011

Community Energy Plan participants announced

In case you missed it, last week, Lt. Governor Becky Skillman announced that 18 Hoosier communities have been selected to participate in OED's Community Energy Progrma (CEP).  CEP will provide energy audits for public facilities in each community, and will help each community create a strategic energy plan to develop short- and long-term energy goals.

The following communities will participate over the next few months -
  • Clarksville
  • Connersville
  • Dublin
  • Gas City
  • Greensburg
  • Hagerstown
  • Linton
  • Monticello
  • Monroe County
  • New Castle
  • Paoli
  • Peru
  • Plymouth
  • Rushville
  • Scottsburg
  • Union City
  • Washington
  • Winamac
The communities were selected through a competitive process for which 63 Indiana communities had applied. Cities and towns with populations under 35,000 and counties with less than 200,000 residents were eligible for the CEP program.

Each CEP community will receive a comprehensive energy plan which will include an inventory of all energy usage at public facilities in the community, a full energy audit to identify potential energy savings measures, an established baseline for utility bills, a list of short-term and long-term energy goals for the community, suggestions to streamline energy decision-making and purchasing processes, ideas for funding energy efficiency projects, and a public meeting to inform the entire community about the new, comprehensive energy plan.  The average cost of this program is $56,620.00 per community -- and it's of no cost to each community!

CEP was funded through the Energy Efficiency and Community Block Grant (EECBG) program, a federally funded program that is part of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009.  This program was restricted to non-entitlement communities in Indiana.